November 2013 BRASH! Artist Spotlight – James Lewis

James Lewis is a fearless hip hop artist from Grand Rapids, MI. He decided to take his music career to the next level by moving to Atlanta, GA to expand his music brand and audience.

Check out the interview below with this month’s Artist Spotlight:

182432_546709455369661_176232872_n

BRASH!: What is your inspiration for writing new songs?
James: My inspiration would be all the great conversations I have with people I meet every day. I try to find out their ups and downs, and use those moments and emotions to inspire me.

BRASH!: As your bio stated, you traveled to Atl in hopes of a better future, how did you come to making a decision to take that leap of faith?
James: It was a spur of the moment thing when we decided to make the trip down to Atlanta. No family, friends, or anything! So you can really say it was a leap of faith, but the decision was the best decision I ever made career wise.

BRASH!: What is your most proudest moment to date in your music journey?
James: Despite the magazine cover and releasing my project, my proudest moment in this journey is touching [the lives] of people with my talent.

BRASH!: What is your ultimate goal in your music career?
James: My ultimate goal is to be the best recording artist ever! I want to be pass the Jay-z’s and Tupac’s in hopes to be up there with the Michael Jackson and the Beetles one day.

BRASH!: How do you feel about the current state of  Hip Hop?
James: Hip Hop is at its most creative these days. There are many artists pulling together different styles of music into their own version of “Hip-hop” from lyrics to the production of beats. Although, it is starting to become more of a “trend” than an actual lifestyle or culture.

BRASH!: Who are your top 3 favorite rap artists?
James: As of now my fav rap artist will consist of Miss Lauryn Hill because of her lyrical content and the way she composed her songs was so head of her time. Blu from the west coast, he is crazy lyrically and drop jewels in every line. Also Kendrick Lamar, he’s changing the game as week speak.

BRASH!: What is your advice to other aspiring artists fighting for a chance at a music career?
James: What I would like to say to all the upcoming artist is make sure you do what you want to do, and stay true to yourself.

BRASH!: Where can we listen and purchase your music?
James: You can find the music on YouTube and Soundcloud: soundcloud.com/iamjameslewis.

BRASH!: Do you have any upcoming projects?
James: My previous project “Who am I (EP)” has created the platform, so my next project “for… h.E.r” will be something that the world will love.

I want to say thank you so much for giving me this opportunity!! This very fun and I can’t wait to see it!!! I know my fans would love to check it out!!!
~James Lewis

Twitter: @iamjameslewis
Facebook: iamjameslewis
Instagram: iamjameslewis
Website: iamjameslewis.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

