Jan 2015 BRASH! Artist Spotlight (Part II) – Dylan Wright

BRASH! is happy to introduce our second Artist Spotlight for this month Dylan Wright. This singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist gave us an exclusive look into his musical journey. Check out his interview with us below:

IMG_7142

B!: What inspires you to write songs?

I write about anything that catches my attention. If I hear people say something or I read something interesting. I’m fascinated by people, life and what makes things tick. I think life is quite inspiring anywhere you look.

B!: What artist(s) did you listen to the most growing up?

When I was really young I listened to a lot of Elvis Presley and the Beatles, as I grew up a little more I started listening to Ben Harper, Jack Johnson, Angus & Julia Stone and similar artists.

B!:  Share with us a little bit about your EP The Long Way Home.

I started writing ‘The Long Way Home’ when I was about 14. I’ve always liked the idea of an album being kind of like a book so I wanted to write each song kind of like a chapter of this young boys life. It follows him and his love for a girl. Each song is kind of like a different stage in life, which is why each song has elements of various genres.

B!: So we hear that you are a multi- instrumentalist, exactly how many and what types do you play?

I started off by playing guitar when I was 11 and since then have tried many other instruments including ukulele, mandolin, banjo and harmonica.

B!: What are you most proud of in your musical journey to date?

I am extremely proud of myself for writing this EP and getting it out into the world. It takes a lot of effort to do something like this and it is all self funded. It was a real eye opener and it taught me a lot of valuable lessons. To have the finished product is a great feeling.

B!: What is your ultimate goal in your musical career?

To write and play music people enjoy listening to. I want my songs to be there for people so they can sing along to in a bar or when they’re alone at home. I want my songs to be a comfort to people in tough times and to bring people together in great times. To me that’s what music is about and all that matters.

B!: Where can we listen and purchase your music?

You can listen on soundcloud (www.soundcloud.com/dylanwrightmusic) or youtube (www.youtube.com/barefootbusker)

B!: Do you have any upcoming projects/performances?

My next couple of shows will be;

Supporting Steve Smyth at Jamberoo Pub – January 10th’

Supporting Steve Smyth at The Brass Monkey – January 11th

Check Dylan out on social media!!!
Twitter: @DylanWrightBand
Facebook: Dylan Wright http://www.facebook.com/dylanwrightmusic
Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/dylanwrightmusic
Soundcloud: http://www.soundcloud.com/dylanwrightmusic
Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/barefootbusker

Leave a Reply

