Feb ’15 BRASH! Artist Spotlight Pt II – Sennia

BRASH!  is continuing its Artist Spotlight feature for Feb with and R&B/Pop artist out of Chicago…Sennia. She shares her singing experience and what to expect from her upcoming EP. Check out her exclusive interview below!

B!: How long have you been singing?Nia's Singing Shoot

Sennia: I’ve been singing since I was young! Oh my goodness I don’t even know how old I was but I started in church. I can tell you though, that I started pursuing a professional singing career just about a year ago. That’s when I decided to become an artist and start taking music seriously.

B!: What artists/bands did you listen to growing up?

Sennia: Believe it or not, I grew up listening to a lot of R&B gospel and timeless artists like Diana Ross, The Jackson 5, Marvin Gaye, Phil Collins, Celine Dion, Billy Joel, etc. It’s a very diverse list but I fell in love with R&B/Soul immediately. My love for light rock came when I was a teenager.

B!: Your bio mentioned that you’ve collaborated with various artists in the Chicago area, who was your favorite and why?

Sennia: None of my collabs have been released yet! But everyone I’ve collaborated with or are soon to collaborate with are amazing and bring something unique to the table. I choose who I work with very wisely. So basically I don’t have a favorite.

 

B!: Tell us a little bit about your upcoming EP.

Sennia: My EP which is going to be released sometime in 2015 is titled “Tenacity”. I was waiting to release the name but I might as well go ahead and divulge a secret or two in this interview! I decided on this name because while creating this EP I went through so much (everything from heartbreak to love, from anxiety to rejection) and the word “Tenacity” basically means to have staying power or be able to persevere and it just fit so well. I’m really excited for the release of this project because I wrote and recorded every song, put every fiber of me into it, and was able to experience so many things in the process.

B!: How do you feel about female artists in the industry today? Do you think it is harder for females to make their mark in the music industry?

Sennia: I feel like female artists in the industry today don’t have it as hard as they used to back in the old days, which is a great thing. So many ideals have changed and there’s so much opportunity for different demographics that there wasn’t before which is exciting.

_DSC2596

B!: What other artists in the industry would you like to work with?

Sennia: That seems like the easiest question but it’s actually really hard to answer because there’s so many great artists today! I’m going to go ahead and go to the past instead of the present and say I would’ve loved to work with or even just be mentored by the late Phyllis Hyman, Marvin Gaye, or Luther Vandross.

B!:  What avenues are you using currently to market  your music to your fans and potential listeners?

Sennia: The internet is a phenomenal medium for promotion and I think most people underestimate digital marketing. I use social media, the internet, and I get out and perform as well!

B!: What’s next for you?

Sennia: Only God knows! I’m so excited to see what the rest of this journey has for me! By the end of 2015 I hope to have my released EP, a bunch of music videos, a big buzz, and a head start on taking over 2016! (lol)

B!:  Tell us where we can listen/purchase your music?

Sennia: My 3 singles—all from “Tenacity”, are available on Soundcloud. I could possibly be dropping another single soon along with a music video as well so stay tuned!

Nia's Singing Shoot

Make sure you follow Sennia on Social Media!!
Twitter: @Iamsennia
Facebook: www.facebook.com/nia.ninijohnson
Instagram: @Iamsennia
Soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/iamsennia
Youtube: IamSennia

Leave a Reply

