April ’15 BRASH! Artist Spotlight – Exclusive Interview with Anna Kelian

Pt II for April’s BRASH! Artist feature includes this lovely singer from Russia, Anna Kelian. This artist is another risk-taker who moved to another country to follow her dreams. Check out her exclusive interview below:


7

B!: What got you started in the music business?

Anna: I always had a feeling that music was a purpose of my life. Even when it was practically impossible to develop a music project, something was telling me I would end up here. To be really precise, I decided clearly that music industry attracts me more than anything else, when I moved from Moscow to NYC.

B!: How was it growing up in Russia?

Anna: The market for popular music in Russia was not interesting for me. There are many reasons for that, just to name one – lip-sync is very widely spread. Overall, I did not dream about career in music business there. And when I got an opportunity to move to NYC, I was so fascinated, that I can pursue my passion on the worldwide scale. No guarantees, too hard, but absolutely worth spending a lifetime trying.

So back in 2011 I started putting efforts to develop my artistry and music production skills.

B!: How would you describe your sound?

Anna: From what I’ve heard from other people, my music has a kind of nerve, or longing, or yearning. To give more musical description, it is close to electronic RnB, pop, hip-hop, dance. I was inspired by Beyonce, Rihanna, Ciara and their sound.

 B!: What inspires your music lyrics?

Anna: Relationships. Some of them are feeding, warm and fulfilling. Some of them can destroy you. I write being inspired by my friends’ stories, as well as by my own experience. And, it’s not necessary for relationships to be even defined in any way. Sometimes, one glance or one word from somebody can ignite a lot of emotions. And one way to celebrate them is to put them in a song.

B!: If you weren’t singing what would you do?

Anna: I would probably focus on music production and audio engineering. If not music, I could go into fashion, or sports, or science. Who knows… Once I was good at martial arts, I was a captain of a judo team. Right now, I have this impatient desire for music, I must sing.

6

B!: What do you want your fans to take away from your live performances?

Anna: I want them to feel connected, to feel understood, related. I want them to open up and feel good. In my opinion, common strengths cannot drive people towards each other, in fact the opposite – they tend to be in a competition. At the same time, common weaknesses make very different people closer. When someone else shares your vulnerability, you suddenly feel so much connection!

I was taught by good teachers such as Craig Derry and Clurel Henderson, and I try to be very real and honest to touch my audience. There is still a lot to work on.

B!: How do you mentally prepare for a new music project?

Anna: I am in the beginning of my path now, and so far there is a stock of the past experience I can dig into when needed. Besides, something happens every now and then, something worth putting in a song.

In future, for new ideas to emerge, I may search for new experiences. I think traveling can be very inspiring.

B!: What are we to expect from your upcoming music project?

Anna: Now I am working on two EPs, one of them will contain low-tempo sensual compositions with the elements of jazz. The second one will be more energetic, strong, up-tempo set of songs.

On these projects I am getting deeper. More expressive, sincere, and revealing.

B!: What are your thoughts on the how female artists are currently being portrayed in the music industry & media?

Anna: Women are expected to do a lot of work and at the same time be sexy and attractive. I don’t think men are in a much better position, since they have rather hard social expectations to meet as well. I think people should tend to realize their potential and simply get to be happy. Sexiness, or soulfulness, or power – they just need to be organic, not artificial. This way it is real and it is beautiful.

B!: Where can we listen/purchase your music?

Anna: You may find all about my music on my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/annakelianmusic. On this page there is always fresh news, information about the upcoming shows, links to my live videos and photos.

You may hear my music at SoundCloud or Spotify, and purchase it at Itunes or Amazon.

4

Check out Anna Kelian on Social Media!!
Twitter: @annakelian
Instagram: anna.kelian
Facebook: AnnaKelianMusic
Reverbnation: www.reverbnation.com/annakelianmusic
Youtube: Anna Kelian Channel

Leave a Reply

