BRASH! Artist Spotlight Pt II – Juss Thrasher

BRASH! is continuing to music momentum of July with a NY native Juss Thrasher. This singer/songwriter not only took a risk to further his dream, but he is taking the necessary steps to master his craft and dream bigger! From his music business ventures to his motivation to provide listeners with REAL music, Juss Thrasher is the artist to follow! Check out his exclusive interview with us and you’ll see why!


B!: How long have you been pursuing music?

Juss Thrasher: I had to be around 12 or 13 years old when I began pursuing and understanding that this is what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. However, I started writing songs when I was 11 years old. I’ve gotten my first record deal when I was 15 turning 16 years old when I was in a local singing group called ANALYZ but then changed to M.O.E.T [Men of Excellent Taste]. Those were the days!

B!: We LOVE risk takers! One risk you took was moving to NYC to pursue music. What prompted that decision?

Juss Thrasher: I come from a pretty small town, Poughkeepsie NY. After getting a small taste of having a record deal and traveling a little, I realized that I might have to step out of my comfort zone. To be honest, I felt as if my family didn’t support my dream so leaving wasn’t too hard. I’ve always been a very independent individual. Throughout my life, being independent gave me confidence and strength. So yes, moving to NYC was scary especially when you don’t know anyone. That is what fueled me. I couldn’t count on anyone but myself. They say if you can make it in NYC you can make it anywhere. So far, I’ve been blessed to be able to keep up. I’m still grinding and fighting to accomplish my goals but isn’t everyone?

B!: How did your relationship with Penjot Music Group start?

Juss Thrasher: I’ve been working with Penjot Music Group for many years since 2008 off and on. Penjot Music Group was formed between friends and myself. Throughout the years, I’ve stepped away to pursue other ventures to enhance my career but I consider them my home base. Currently, we are doing well together. We’ve released a few singles in recent years and an EP this year. We are growing together and I’m so thankful Penjot Music Group believes in me so much.

JUSS THRASHER
B!: How would you describe your sound?

Juss Thrasher:  Sweet Melodic Vibes. I know that sounds a bit corny but that’s all that comes to mind. My voice is soft. To add to my sound, I place harmonies and melodic tidbits all over my songs. When I think about it, every time I get a question like this my answer changes. When I record a new song I feel a certain way at moments. Lets just say I love to record real music. My sound can range from smooth R&B, a little Pop-ish, a hint of country but with a twist, if you will. Whatever comes to mind and feel good I’m going to do it.

B!: What are your inspirations music wise?

Juss Thrasher:  I would say 90’s music. It puts me in this mood where I sit back and listen to real music. When I’m listening, it brings me to the exact same place where I fell in love with music. The sounds of Brian McKnight, Brandy, Toni Braxton, the male groups with all those harmonies. Speaking of male groups, I also venture back and listen to the Original Drifters. Since they are Kin of mine that inspires me to push forward and follow in their footsteps. So when I’m listening I’m inspired all over again. I get in a zone and reminisce. Now, that isn’t the only thing that inspires me to write. It may sound strange to others, but heartbreak has allowed me to write the best songs so far. I’m so much in love with love. I’m not going to lie; I am a romantic type of guy. I’ve had my heart broken a few times. So yes, a little heartbreak has helped my career tremendously.

B!: How have you grown in the music industry since your first EP “Do We Need Love”?
Juss Thrasher: I’ve grown vocally and musically. I would say I’m more involved in the process of creating the entire song. Before I would just get a beat or instrumental and write to it. With my new EP “In My System”, I was able to create everything from scratch with my producer. I truly enjoyed that process more. Going back to “Do We Need Love”, I will be re-releasing it on iTunes very soon. I managed to get ALL the rights to my songs that I didn’t have before. So I’m excited about that!


B!:
Do you write songs just for yourself, or are you looking to collaborate with other artists?

Juss Thrasher:  Not many people know this about me but my first love is writing music. I started off when I was younger writing for local artist. I didn’t want to become an artist. Eventually, when the time is right I would love to just sit around different artist and create real music. I want to be able to dig deep and write some great songs. I wouldn’t try and push the song to a “single” for an artist just as long as they love it and it’s on an album for the world to hear, I’d be happy. I know this random, but the best songs are the songs that make the album that people may not pay close attention to. It’s crazy right? But true… Me being around songwriters, we tend to pick things up like that. Yes, the single will be catchy but the “real” emotional time worthy song would just be a filler on the album. That filler song with all the emotions and meaning will be mine, eventually. Funny, right?

JUSS THRASHER


B!:
What are your goals for the next three years?

Juss Thrasher: Hmm… I’m actually going to focus on writing more music and getting them placed with artists. I’m working on a strong catalogue with different producers right now. During some of my free time, I’m venturing into some acting. I’m looking to concur small indie movie roles to get my feet wet. I’m becoming more open minded about things with my music so these next three years might open me up to a whole new world of things.

B!: Where can we listen/purchase your music?

Juss Thrasher:  I’m on iTunes, Amazon, Emusic, Spotify, etc. My music is in mostly all downloadable stores/sites around the world. I’m also on Pandora, iHeart Internet Radio, iTunes Radio, VEVO, and all other outlets. You can also check out my website www.jussmusic.com, I have music, photos, and tons of other stuff on there.

jt_getaway

Be sure to also check out Juss Thrasher on following sites!
Facebook: www.facebook.com/jussthrasher
Instagram: juss.thrasher
Soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/jussmusic
Vevo: www.vevo.com/artist/juss-thrasher

Leave a Reply

