Sept ’15 BRASH! Artist Spotlight Pt II – Keeyen Martin

KM3BRASH! is continuing the month of September with another GREAT artist who has had the opportunity to sing with some notable artists. You can say that music has been with Keeyan Martin since he was a toddler and his craft has only grown to capture audiences and listeners…Especially those with dreams! Read his exclusive w/ BRASH! below:

B!: How did you start your journey in music?
Keeyan: Church was the birthplace of my journey. It was here I followed blossomed and learned how to sing and command a crowd. I’ve been singing since age 2 and come from a church centered/musical family.
B!: You’ve definitely paid your dues by singing background for various artists. How have those experiences shaped you to be the artist you are today?
Keeyan: I’ve definitely gained wisdom and development from my experiences. The knowledge of how to be a showman and shine in your lane have been greatly enhanced from singing behind greats.

B!: What avenues are you currently taking to market/promote your music?
Keeyan: Social media is a primary avenue. It’s no secret that social media really dominates the world of entertainment. My brand manager has also been huge in building campaigns to further promo my music.
B!: You’ve shared the stage with MANY notable artists, who would you like to share the stage with next? And Why?
Keeyan: Wow. That’s a tough question. Honestly I’d love to share the stage with Jazmine Sullivan, Sam Smith, and Drake. I’m a huge fan of all their endeavors.

KM2

B!: Where do you go/what do you do to get into that creative zone to write music?
Keeyan: I relax often times and sit at my keyboard. Creativity is random though, sometimes it will hit u at the most inopportune times. When it comes I just flow and try not to force it.

B!: Tell us about the importance of standing out above the rest?
Keeyan: I think once you make it a focus to stand out it becomes a “job” stripping away the joy of what you love. Simply being yourself and polishing your art inevitably makes you stand out.

B!: What was the inspiration behind the song “Suitcase”?
Keeyan: Suitcase is a song for the dreamers. It comes from a place of wanting more and striving for more. Dreams are hard, the journey is hard, but if I have live outta my suitcase traveling to achieve my dreams I’ll do just that. Suitcase is a mantra of encouragement to myself and others.

B!: What advice would you give an aspiring artist fighting for a chance?
Keeyan: To never give up. Be relentless! It’s vital for your existence in a world where it seems every other person is an artist with amazing music. The greatest truth is there is a lane and an audience for us all. Find your niche and work it to the max!

B!: Are there any other avenues within the entertainment industry that you would like to go after?
Keeyan: Absolutely, I love television and film. I so dream to have songs as well as land roles on the big screen.

B!: Where can we listen/purchase your music?
Keeyan: My music is available on ALL online music retailers (ITunes, GooglePlay, Spotify, Tidal) simply search: Keeyen Martin
KM1

Keeyen Martin has also set up a web series on his YouTube channel titled “Pieces”.
Check out Episode 1: “Who is Keeyen Martin”

Social Media Links:
Instagram: KeeyenMartin
Twitter: @KeeyenMartin
YouTube: Keeyen Martin
Facebook: Keeyen.Martin
Official Website: www.KeeyenMartin.com

Leave a Reply

